Mark Stewart presents Ultimate Post Punk Mix with Russell Craig Richardson and Nikolaos Katranis to celebrate the upcoming movie Rip It Up And Start Again

Listen to this special mix created with Mark Stewart, Russell Craig Richardson and Nikolaos Katranis and the filmmakers behind the upcoming documentary Rip It Up and Start Again…!

Simon Reynolds’ 2005 book Rip it Up and Start Again is a stunning chronicle of the original post-punk scene, tracing its players from student centers and bombed-out warehouses to the early ’80s, when it morphed into gothic, synthpop, New Romantic, and the New Pop movement that spawned ABC and Frankie Goes to Hollywood. It is being adapted into a documentary directed by Nikolaos Katranis and Russell Craig Richardson, starring Oscar winner Leon Gast.

The film features new interviews with Jah Wobble (PiL, Invaders of the Heart), Ana da Silva (Raincoats), Genesis Breyer-P-Orridge (Throbbing Gristle, Psychic TV), Mark Stewart (The Pop Group, The Maffia), Stephen Mallinder (Cabaret Voltaire, Wrangler) and more, plus rare performance footage.

Mark Stewart and Stephen Mallinder recently released the collaborative track “Cast No Shadow”, inspired by the documentary and the book, and featured on Mark Stewart’s new solo album, VS.

Nikolaos Katranis: The post-punk era from 1979 to 1984 was obviously anti-star, and if there is ever going to be an all-encompassing view of that era as a whole, then that should be the approach. The central character of this film is the Zeitgeist himself. There seemed to be one, across the world, and we let the artists of that time show us its source and form, sound and flavor. Plus, many of the top artists put out a record or two and that was it. It was an ocean of artists, not an Olympic pantheon, a constellation of daring releases rather than a field of careerists. “Stars” inevitably emerged, but then you have the New Wave.

Russell Richardson: We wanted to make a film where the protagonists themselves have time to tell it from their perspective and follow their leads on what was important and influential from within the scenes. Although there was no formal “movement”, it is surprisingly and comfortingly clear that there was most definitely this Zeitgeist, stretching from the Rust Belt in America, through the gray 70s of the United Kingdom, and as far as culturally reconstructed Germany. It ended up being an incredibly fertile and diverse field. We did a dark video for “Cast No Shadow” (Leaether Mix) by Mark Stewart, Stephen Mallinder and Eric Random, sourcing footage from Cabaret Voltaire and The Pop Group videos from the era and a whole underground sensation of cars in tunnels, elevators, corridors, silhouettes of buildings and movement. Lots of dark northern skies too, starlings around the belfries, eyes watching, UK weather and a bit of fire to liven things up. It also received a very good remix in Texas.

“Cast No Shadow” pairs Stewart with Cabaret Voltaire industrial icons Stephen Mallinder, and Eric Random, whose early solo work was recorded at Cabaret Voltaire’s Western Works studios in Sheffield. “Eric is the Jandek of our scene and working with him and Mal feels like a post-punk holy trinity,” says Mark. It’s a filthy electro dub track. Stewart says “Cast No Shadow” is an acknowledgment of the music documented in the film Rip It Up and Start Again and how the circumstances that helped bring about the original era are very similar to our present time. “Then, like now, it looks like a scorching season,” he says.

The pop band’s Mark Stewart new album, VS, features a different collaborator on each song, including the late Lee “Scratch” Perry, Front 242’s Patrick Codenys, Mike Watt, Pan Sonic’s Mika Vainio, Consolidated, and more.

VS is a unique collaborative project led by Mark Stewart, a singer, producer and songwriter who has been an anarchic and pioneering figure at the frontiers of post-punk, industrial, avant-dub and electronic music since the punk era. Each track is a mix of forces that pits Stewart against an artist who originated, propagated, or currently champions the incendiary aesthetic, cultural, and sociopolitical intentions of that era. Members of Cabaret Voltaire, Consolidated, Pan Sonic and the MINUTEMEN as well as the late Lee Perry, Adrian Sherwood and KK Null are featured. This music is meant to resonate with “Raw stardust in your bones, ancient heat in your blood.”

Devils Jukebox is the sonic playground of Mark Stewart and Obeah Bucureci who share a deep love for pirate radio, dub, Lee Scratch Perry, Dennis Bovell, Rodion GA and Eastern European experimental music , the films of Andrei Tarkovsky, Patti Smith, Allen Ginsberg, Frankenstein, collages and Peter Kennard. Check out Mark Storm Crow’s new song from On-U Sound Records’ upcoming Pay It All Back Volume 8 compilation: 03-16 -adrian-sherwood

Mark Stewart is an artist, singer, producer and songwriter from Bristol, England. As a founding member of The Pop Group and as a soloist, Stewart has remained an anarchic and pioneering figure since the punk era, a constant source of divisiveness between the boundaries of post-punk, dub, industrial music and electronic.

In a body of work driven by an explosive form of lyricism and inspired by radical politics, protest movements, theory, philosophy, technology, art and poetry, Stewart has fearlessly cultivated a revealing collision of ideas, ideals and influences along an indisputably revolutionary journey. and seditious career.

Bucureci Lil Obeah is deeply obsessed with Jamaican music, dub, reggae and dancehall sounds from around the world inspired by horror movies, concepts, art and a certain dark and creepy aesthetic. All of its selections aim to be Eastern European pirate radio with music from all decades from the 1950s to our pandemic days.

Next concerts of Mark Stewart & The Maffia as part of the On-U Sound Record 40and Birthday party:

Mark Stewart presents Ultimate Post Punk Mix with Russell Craig Richardson and Nikolaos Katranis – Rip it and do it again

  1. Joy Division – Love Will Tear Us Apart
  2. Capitol 1212 & Earl16 – Love Will Tear Us Apart
  3. Public Image Ltd. – Public image
  4. Gang of Four – Home is a Tourist
  5. The Pop Band – She’s Beyond Good and Evil Dub
  6. Lunges – Instant Kick
  7. Vivien Goldman – Private Armies voice acting
  8. Raincoats – The Void
  9. Lizzy Mercier Descloux – Rosa Vertov
  10. The Fall – New Face in Hell
  11. Scritti Politti – Skank Bloc Bologna
  12. This Heat – 24 Track Loop
  13. Wire – Map reference
  14. Papa Ubu – The Real World
  15. Devo – Mongoloid
  16. A Certain Ratio – Vol
  17. The Monochrome Ensemble – Alphaville
  18. Delta 5 – You
  19. Au Pairs – It’s obvious
  20. DNA – Egomaniac’s kiss
  21. Snatch – RAF
  22. Kraftwerk – Figures
  23. DAF – Ein Bisschen Krieg
  24. Talking Heads – Cities
  25. The Contortionists – Contortion yourself
  26. The Cure – 10:15 p.m. Saturday night
  27. Robert Rental – Paralysis
  28. Cabaret Voltaire – Loosen the clamp
  29. Monochrome ensemble – Eine Symphonie des Grauens
  30. New Order – Everything Turned Green

Comments are closed.